Christmas in Buffalo

14

I’ve been listening to this song all night on repeat. Pay attention:

I was living in Seattle / I fought another losing battle / I was just another head in a herd of cattle / When I lost my job at Boeing / it rained for 40 days / and then there was a month of fog and haze / I knew that I better go east-aways.

and I was going, I was going / Now it’s ho, ho, ho / It’s Christmas in Buffalo / I’m Santa Claus in department stores and all I see is snow / ho, ho, ho / It’s Christmas in Buffalo / I’m ole St. Nick and I’m so heartsick ‘cuz I got no place to go

It’s a long time since I seen you girl and a long time to be alone / My heart is grieving from the pain from the leaving you / If i could only send for you, it would be sunny day in May

Seasons greetings / Merry christmas and a happy new year / I really want to hold you near but it’s so hard on a Santa’s pay

Now it’s ho, ho, ho / It’s Christmas in Buffalo / Kids sit on my knees they say “Santa please” but Daddy, he aint got the dough / Ho, ho, ho / It’s Christmas in Buffalo / I’m ole St Nick and I’m so heartsick cuz i have no place to go / ho, ho, ho, ho

Upon first listen, all I wanted to do is make Billy Joel jokes and talk about a Pavlovian response to fake southern accents. Five listens later you want to curl up on your couch and pick up your pet hamster and let him know everything will be OK, you know? Who is this lady? Why didn’t Jim just go to his parent’s house in Brooklyn instead of trying to “make it” upstate? Did the Santa costume cause chafe?

Seriously though, I love Christmas in Buffalo. I love the idea of Seattle as a Boeing job rather than a bohemian escape. That’s some hard shit.

Jim Savage – Christmas in Buffalo

Leave a Reply

